The Unit 1 Collective Agreement will expire on December 31, 2020.

We will final notice to bargain soon, with the goal of first meeting the Employer to negotiate in November. 

The Bargaining Committee is currently finalizing a bargaining platform that it will consult on with stewards and equity-seeking groups. This platform will be presented to the membership on November 6, 2020, from 2:00pm-5:00pm. If you are a Unit 1 member, register now to attend this virtual meeting!

Bargaining Team Members

Amy Conwell (Chair)
Éric Pecile (History, Div 1)
Sujata Thapa (Geography, Div 2)
Qusai Hassan (Chemistry, UTSC, Div 3)
Adam Zendel (Innis & University College Programs, Div 5)
Talia Isaacson (Stewards’ Council Representative)
Kyle Shaw-Müller (Executive Committee Representative)

Staff Assigned: Gina Gignac, Staff Representative and David Simao, Office Coordinator

Bargaining Support Committee (BSC)

The Bargaining Support Committee (BSC) is responsible for organizing among the membership, the University, and the community in support of the Local’s aims in bargaining. Each bargaining unit has a BSC, which works with the unit’s Bargaining Team and the Local to develop and implement a plan for organizing around a round of bargaining. In the event that a strike is undertaken, the Bargaining Support Committee becomes the Strike Committee (SC). The duties of the BSC are outlined in Article 14.3 of the Local’s bylaws.

Unit 1 BSC Chair: Eriks Bredovskis & Abdus Shuman

Unit 1 BSC Members: Dawn Walker, Alex Djedovic, Mariam Karim, Adam El-Masri
Staff Assigned: Tzazná Miranda Leal, Staff Organizer

Bargaining FAQ/Documents

Bargaining Process & Platform - Documents

Unit 1 Bargaining Platform (to be approved November 6th; link coming soon!)
Bargaining Process Presentation & Definitions
Bargaining Process Chart


What if there's a strike?