The Executive Committee takes its direction from decisions of the membership and ensures that the policies and decisions of the Local are implemented. The Executive also brings proposals to the membership and Stewards’ Council for changes in policy or direction. The Executive meets bi-weekly and oversees the office’s day-to-day business, provides direction to the staff through the Executive Director and administers the Local’s Collective Agreements. A description of duties for each executive officer can be found online.

To email an Executive Officer, click on their image/name.

Amy Conwell, Chair

Amy works in Unit 1 as a Course Instructor and Teaching Assistant in the Department of English. She is a PhD candidate at the Centre for Medieval Studies, a Registered Yoga Teacher, and a poet. She has previously served as your Secretary-Treasurer, UTM Campus Steward, and Stewards’ Council Representative on the Unit 1 Bargaining Committee.

Kyle Shaw-Muller, Vice-Chair Unit 1

Kyle is a PhD student and Unit 1 member in the Department of Anthropology, where he specializes in the archaeology of everyday life in first millennium Belize and on the North Coast of Peru. He has served as a departmental steward and been active in the Mobilisation Committee. Now, as your VC1, he is working to develop creative strategies to involve and organize Unit 1 members in the coming round of bargaining, despite challenges such as Bill 124 and ongoing pandemic concerns.

dr. Christopher Landon, Vice-Chair Unit 5

Chris has been a Postdoctoral Fellow at the Centre for Medieval Studies and a Unit 5 member since April 2019. While completing his PhD, Chris worked in several roles at the University of Toronto, including as a Teaching Assistant, Research Assistant, and Course Instructor. He also worked as a university staff member (USW) prior to taking up his current position. Chris was previously the Bargaining Support Chair for Unit 5 and currently serves on the Arts and Science North Joint Health and Safety Committee.

Dr. Brian Butcher, Vice-Chair Colleges

Brian is a sessional lecturer in the Toronto School of Theology, where he works at the University of St. Michael's College and other associated colleges and is a Fellow of the Metropolitan Andrey Sheptytsky Institute of Eastern Christian Studies (USMC). Brian negotiated Unit 4's third collective agreement in 2018, and has been its representative on USMC's Joint Health and Safety Committee since 2019. When not engaged in scholarly pursuits, he enjoys singing, cooking, gardening, and training for triathlons, as well as maintaining his practice of taekwondo. He is the father to six children.

Dr. Mahdi Zamani, Secretary-Treasurer

Mahdi is a Course Instructor in Math, the former President of the Iranian Association at the University of Toronto, and long-time active CUPE 3902 member. Over the course of his PhD and Postdoc in Mechanical Engineering, he has been involved in the Local at many levels, serving as a departmental Steward, Bargaining Support Committee member for Unit 1, Bargaining Team member for Unit 5, and, previously, your External Liaison Officer.

dr. Glenna Kramer, External Liaison Officer

Glenna is a proud Unit 5 member and a postdoc in the Dept. of Biochemistry. She has previously served as the Vice-Chair for Unit 5 and has served on the bargaining team in the last two rounds of Unit 5 bargaining. When not in the lab or doing union work, Glenna enjoys running, reading and exploring Toronto with her two kids.

Dr. James Ashby, Grievance Officer

Jamie is a member of Unit 3, and has worked recently as a Sessional Lecturer at the University of Toronto Scarborough, Ryerson University, and Brock University. Jamie is also a Sessional Instructional Assistant (SIA) at UTM. This is his third full term as Grievance Officer, and he has previously served as Chair of the Unit 3 Bargaining Support Committee, as well as a Grievance Divisional Steward and Departmental Steward.